Elizabeth Wessinger Award of Excellence in Hospice & Palliative Care

Who makes a positive difference for hospice and palliative care in Oregon and beyond?

January 2018

In honor of Elizabeth Wessinger, each year the Oregon Hospice & Palliative Care Association chooses an individual who makes a difference for end of life care in our state or across the nation. The Elizabeth Wessinger Award celebrates the individual whose spirit and actions contribute to the improvement and advancement of hospice and palliative care beyond their own community.

As many of you know, Beth Wessinger was a great help to the Oregon Hospice & Palliative Care Association. She was a member of the task force that created the Oregon Hospice Association from two previously existing organizations. She also served as a founding member of the OHA board of directors. In 1988, the Oregon Hospice Association was in its infancy. The work to establish hospices across the state was underway. The fledgling organization, while rich in dedication and commitment, was poor in financial resources. Beth Wessinger and her husband, Fred, recognized the value of the Oregon Hospice Association and believed in our mission to ensure all Oregonians have access to high quality end of life care. They made the decision to help the agency survive. The Wessingers established the Hospice Assistance Fund, a dedicated trust for the Oregon Hospice & Palliative Care Association at The Oregon Community Foundation.

Here are the past Elizabeth Wessinger Award recipients:

1988 – Beth Wessinger

1989 – Joan Buell

1990 – Karen Bell

1991 – Judith Wesley

1992 – Paul Stull

1993 – Judy List

1994 – Bernie Reed

1995 – Jane Kirschling

1996 – Jerry Griffin

1997 – Robert Gootee

1998 – Linda Downey

1999 – Andrew Franklin & Diane Elizondo

2000 – Ina Holman

2001 – Betty Cooper

2002 – Marianne Durkan

2003 – Dick Lenhardt

2004 – Denis Carnaby

2005 – Arch Lang

2006 – Jay Cushman

2007 – Ann Jackson

2008 – Lori Kent

2009 – Nancy Diane Manelli Brewer & Dora Parys

2010 – Susan Tolle, MD

2011 – Senator Ron Wyden

2012 – Barb Farmer

2013 – Pam Matthews

2014 – Barb Hansen

2015 – Deborah Whiting Jaques

2016 – Elizabeth Peters

2017 – Jennifer Traeger

The Oregon Hospice and Palliative Care Association invites you to submit a nomination by completing the Elizabeth Wessinger Award Nomination Form below.  Applications received by noon, August 10, 2018 will receive consideration by the OHPCA Board of Directors.  The Elizabeth Wessinger Award recipient will be announced at the annual Professional Practices Exchange September 23-25, 2018 at the Eagle Crest Resort Conference Center in Redmond.

We look forward to receiving your nomination.  If you have questions, please let us know. You may submit the nomination online or by email to hansen@oregonhospice.org.

Thank you,

Jane Brandes, RN, MSN
Chair – Oregon Hospice and Palliative Care Association Board of Directors

Oops! We could not locate your form.